Caribbean Map - Antigua and Barbuda

Country facts

Area: 442 sq km (Antigua 281 sq km; Barbuda 161 sq km)
Population: 85,700 (EIU 2007 Estimate). Barbuda’s population of 1,500 live mostly in or near the town of Codrington.
Capital city: St John’s City. This is the main commercial centre of Antigua and has the largest harbour, capable of berthing five ships, and sometimes more. 
 Most Antiguans are of African lineage, descendants of slaves brought to the island centuries ago to labour in the sugarcane fields. About 10% of the population consists of Hispanic immigrants, mainly from the Dominican Republic. Nationals from Jamaica, Dominica and Guyana have also settled on the island.
Languages: English
Religion(s): Predominantly Anglican, but also Moravian, Methodist and Roman Catholic
Currency: East Caribbean Dollar (EC$) US$1.00 = 2.70EC$
Political parties: United Progressive Party (UPP); Antigua Labour Party (ALP); Barbuda People’s Movement (BPM)
Government: A constitutional monarchy with Westminster-style Parliament. The bicameral legislature comprises a 17-member House of Representatives (the lower house) elected every five years and a Senate (upper house) of 17 appointed members. The United Progressive Party holds nine seats, the Antigua Labour Party seven and the Barbuda People’s Movement hold the Barbuda seat.
Head of State: HM Queen Elizabeth II represented by HE the Governor General, Dame Louise Lacke-Tack GCMG.
Prime Minister/Premier: The Hon Baldwin Spencer
Foreign Minister: The Hon Baldwin Spencer
Membership of international groups/organisations: ACP, CARICOM, CDB, Commonwealth, ECLAC, FAO, G77, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMG, IMO, Intelsat (nonsignatory user), Interpol, IOC, ITU, NAM (observer), OAS OECS, OPANAL, UN UNCTAD, UNESCO, UPU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WMO, WTO. Antigua was Chair of the G77 in 2008.


Country Information