Two overseas-based swimmers have been included in a large 34-member national team to contest this year’s OECS Swimming Championships from November 7-9 in St Lucia.

Noah Mascoll-Gomes and Aliah Maginley, who both train in Florida, are expected to join the team in St Lucia for the annual events.

Mascoll-Gomes will compete in the Boys 13-14 category, while Maginley will swim in the Girls 15-17 age category.

Vice President of the Antigua & Barbuda Swimming Federation, Roy Bento, said the swimmers should bring some added enthusiasm to the team.

“They’re both training with the Azura Swim Club in Ft. Lauderdale which is a very top swim club and actually a lot of Caribbean nationals and South and Central Americans train their very top athletes there, so those two swimmers are getting prepared by their coach in Florida and they are going to join the other guys that are traveling from Antigua,” he said.

Bento said the Federation opted to take a full 34-member team as they seek to improve on their third place finish at last year’s competition.

Bento advised that swimmers have been registered in every age-group and in every event so they will do all strokes and in all qualifying events for every age-group that they can participate in. “We are going to be very well represented. We are very hopeful to better our third place finish we have done for the last several years,” the VP said.

“Last year in our medal count, we were only one medal less than Grenada who were the overall winners last year and they had 125 medals winning first place and we had 124 medals coming in third, but that percentage in terms of what place you come is through a point system,” he added.

Other members of the team include Lleyton Martin, Stefano Mitchell, Daryl Appleton, Mark Mitchell, Gabriella John and Samantha Roberts along with Jason and Ethan Bento

Also making the selections for the Championships is Haley Derrick, Angelique Gittens, Kimberly Warner, Olivia Fuller, Neriah Sandin, Bianca Mitchell, Maddison Coleman, Gabriella Gittens, Makaela Holochak, Rachel Wall and Camaria Sampson.

Rounding off the huge team are Luke Pollen-Brook, Adriano Hedley, Lucah Mascoll-Gomes, Jalon Watkins, Jonah Mascoll-Gomes, Zachary Holochak, Tanner Esty, Kyle Christopher, Jadon Wuilliez, Dylon Ross, J’air Smith, Nathan Marshall and Robert Watkins. Article:




You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Comment